Soulsoothinsounds's Blog

For those awakening divine humans

True Passion

18 Comments

Years ago when in my twenties, I left New Jersey and a controlling Greek father behind, and drove, with a college boyfriend, to a small midwest town named Iron River, Wisconsin.

log-cabinWe lived for almost a year in a small cabin type home in the woods, along with another young couple.  What could be more exciting and new?

What started out as just a vacation ended up being more.  I worked at the local fishing pole factory, since jobs there were scarce.  My days involved wrapping wire around fishing poles, and inadvertently inhaling solvent based glue without proper ventilation. (Back in the early 70’s).

After work each day, a few of us would go to the local bar, chow down on their home-made soup, and play billiards.  I actually got pretty good at it, and even bought my own collapsible cue stick.  I even enjoyed the nickname, “Wisconsin Slim!”cabin-1209724

 What can I say, big fish….small pond!

So, after some pool and commiserating with the locals, I would head home, and take out my guitar, take it easy, get dinner going with the others, and enjoy some intimacy with the man I was on this adventure with.

Winter came fast and temperatures dropped to an arctic thirty to sixty below zero on the average.  Going outside required serious layering and care in preventing frostbite.  We used snowmobiles to get around the snow-covered landscape.  The sky at night was blazing with more stars than I ever knew existed!  I even got to witness the Aurora Borealis.

adventure-1573328_1920Today I wouldn’t last a day in that environment.  Both physically and emotionally!  But there is something about that past, something I wished I could recapture.  Was it passion?  A carefreeness that transcended the environmental challenges?  On a certain level, I was living, I was experiencing life, but the passion I felt was more about relationships, my late-budding sexuality, with an infusion of drama.

However, there is something there I miss.  Maybe it was the ability of my young body to adapt easily to different and often imperfect environments.  When I think of the time and energy I have spent in the last few years trying to make my environments less stressful, because of my growing sensitivities.  Back then I was exposed to all kinds of pollutants, chemicals, cigarette smoke, not to mention the people and their special brand of toxins and imbalances.  And, I was very much asleep.

I feel the irony, and now I can fully appreciate the expression, “Youth is wasted on the young.

TRUE PASSION

My passion, for the most part, was from outside myself, whether it was a job, career, relationships, even drama was a form of passion, igniting emotions that made me feel alive.  Sure, I enjoyed being the artist and musician, and I did express my soul through those forms, but the rest of the time, I was deeply entrenched in the story.

Now, in this awakening, and embodied enlightenment, so many of us have for the most part moved beyond the drama, and find ourselves feeling passionless.  Wondering where it went.  Hoping it will come in soon so we can feel alive.  If we were more healthy, had more energy, and if we were more financially abundant, we then could truly enjoy life.  Or if the right job came along that suited more of who we are now.  Or even the right relationships or partnerships.  Someone to enjoy and share who we are.

And absolutely, as the human, we deserve anything that we consider important to our joy.  But we are discovering that our joy, the true joy that we gave permission to finally feel,  does not reside in any of those things.  Because looking back, I had all of those things, the health, the relationships, the careers, money, but I was not really feeling the full joy that is my birthright.  I was troubled.  I was confused.  I was deep into distractions.

HAPPINESS IS WITHIN, BUT WE CAN’T DO WITHOUT

In spite of being pummeled with the adage that happiness is within, we also know that we need certain physical conditions in order to want to stay here in the physical.  But by now we also know that enlightenment isn’t just about being an improved human…better health, more money, more opportunities.

So we have gained a great deal of wisdom in this process.  Including the wisdom to not get entangled in or distracted by our old story.  By our mind trying to convince us that it, and only it knowssoul-623423_1920 what’s best for us.  We are discovering that there is a new relationship forming between the beautiful, conditioned, limited human and the beautiful eternal, limitless self.  And that, although they are polar opposites, like any relationship, there is a period of time needed to get to know each other, and there needs to be a mutual trust and respect.

It’s taken me a while, but I have discovered that my soul’s joy is not diminished by a less than perfect environment or a less than healthy body.  I have discovered that I can tap into my soul’s joy and carefreeness and confidence, regardless of imperfect circumstances in my life.   What I am feeling more seems to be a passion for life, just for being alive, for being here.  Even when I am not ‘doing’ anything in particular.  But it does seem to involve allowing myself to feel the sensual nature of life.  At times it blows me away.  My mind didn’t quite know what to do with it, so I would tend to push that joy aside, only allowing it for short periods of time.  But those times are increasing.  That’s the trust growing.

And as I reflect on the past few years, I have moved beyond the depression.  I have never felt more lighthearted.  Things that used to bring me down don’t affect me like before.  Others trying to wield power or guilt onto me, or emotional abuse…well, they are no longer in my experience. So much of my mind’s fears and concerns, while still there, are becoming more background.  Physically, the chronic fatigue has been gone for almost five years now.  My body has shed the extra weight on its own, without any dieting or exercise…in fact these days I am pretty sedentary and I don’t deprive myself of my treats. I still have some physical issues that are uncomfortable, some which trouble and sometimes scare me.   I still have sensitivities to the environment.  But I know that it’s just a matter of time before they too come into balance.  And if they don’t I am not going to let that stop me, as best as I can, from experiencing the joy that is my birthright.  As long as I am here on the planet, I want to feel my true passion.

copyright (c) 2017 Maria Chambers, All rights reserved. Please feel free to share this content with others but maintain this article’s integrity by copying it unaltered and by including the author and source website link:. Maria Chambers at http://www.soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

Enjoy, To Fall In Love Again, from Simply Divine

Author: soulsoothinsounds

Our lives are like great paintings or great pieces of music. If we focus on all the technical 'imperfections' we will miss the true beauty of the work. We won't see, or rather, FEEL the essence and spirit of the masterpiece. I no longer identify myself as a writer, artist, or musician. Rather I express my divinity, and my humanity through the media of art, music and writing. I began this blog because I wanted to give voice to my experiences and insights, and I wrote for myself primarily. Six years later, I am still writing for myself, and I am discovering that my experiences are not personal but universal - galactic even. And now I am more sure than ever that I am a new consciousness teacher, as each of you are. The way we teach is by going through the very human experiences, and as we ascend and shed our old selves, with love, and as we embody spirit in this lifetime, which we are all doing, we become the standards for others of the new divine human.

18 thoughts on “True Passion

  1. “It’s taken me a while, but I have discovered that my soul’s joy is not diminished by a less than perfect environment …I have never felt more lighthearted. Things that used to bring me down don’t affect me like before. ” I am doing a 32 day process on FB anchoring joy daily. I had just written there how traveling around the world twice could not compare with the inner freedom I feel. Many of my life circumstances are far from ideal yet to feel free of fear, peace, intimacy with self and my beloved daughter, to adore myself and be grateful for what I DO have, profound riches indeed. Thanks for articulating this so well. love wave headed your way.

    • You are so welcome…and thank YOU, Savannah, for the courage, especially as a woman, to love YOU and to walk with your own Divinity. 💜

    • ” be grateful for what I DO have, profound riches indeed.”

      Yeah that is how I feel, too. I am getting more grateful. I m so thankful that I have a beautiful little apartment and food on the table, and that me and my loved ones are healthy. Apart from the nagging and being concerned about my apathy, gratefulness definitely increased.
      Thank you for reminding me.

  2. Dear Maria,

    it was so interesting to read something about your past and what kind of things you used to do when you were younger. Thank you for that little insight into your earlier life.

    “It’s taken me a while, but I have discovered that my soul’s joy is not diminished by a less than perfect environment”

    Yeah, that definitely improved for me, too, because of the inner work I have been doing. I am fairly content most of the time and happy doing nothing (or eating, or watching videos on the net, or reading your blog) I feel like a purring cat (or close to that) most of the time. lol
    Life quality definitely has improved, especially compared to the early and middle stages of my ascension process, which was utterly painful.

    What I meant with loss of passion is on a more trivial level. I have tried to get back into writing, but I just couldn’t. or any other creative activitiy and …nah. Then I was thinking about doing a zumba course but at the same time I felt my body saying…nah, can’t be bothered. lol. There is really nothing that interests me anymore. You seem to still have writing, making music and painting as your hobbies and I presume they still bring you joy. I do sometimes feel like I’m wasting my time, but it doesn’t stop me from just lounging about and that is something that has been going on for a long time now.
    Together with my unemployment (and not even knowing what I would like to work) that is a whole lotta apathy hahaha. Oh, well maybe I should start working as a test eater; that’s what I still like doing 😀 😀

    Much love,
    Kat

    • Morning, Kat
      Yeah, I surprised myself because I’m not one to reminisce. And im sure some of it is selective memory! (Haha) But really, for me too, other than my writing, which isn’t a big part of my day, and not consistently, there’s not that much creativity happening. All the music is from over a year ago and going back to 2009…. I am occasionally inspired to do a music video using the songs already created, and other than a journal drawing here and there, the art work is from before 2000.

      It’s interesting because I really no longer identify myself as the musician or the artist. I haven’t had that type of passionate drive to create in that way in a long time. It is a strange place to be. No longer passionate about a relationship, or about a creative project. I do enjoy my blog, and it gives me also a place to express and showcase my past art, but really I dont even think I would call it a true passion.

      So what you are doing is perfect, and what we are ‘doing’ is relaxing into our enlightenemnt. Love.💜💜💜

      • “So what you are doing is perfect, and what we are ‘doing’ is relaxing into our enlightenemnt. Love”

        Can I say THANK YOU for that?!
        Such a beautiful way to put it. And when I think about it, yeah we did deserve some relaxation after all that processing, didn’t we?

      • God YES! We sure do! We’ve spent Lifetimes getting here! An incredible and amazing journey it’s been…and, glad it’s all behind me now! Whew! 🙌💕

  3. Kat i had the same reaction as you-THANK YOU for that! For all of it, this whole piece and the comments. What a fantastic and soothing perspective. I loved getting to read about your youth as well (how i would love that quiet little cabin–in warmer weather LOL), and oooooooh MAN i too SO get that phrase about youth being wasted in the young. Holy crap. And yep looking back it was all outside of myself, other people and drama and doing things not bcuz i wanted to but bcuz i felt guilty or scared not to. Now even though things are nowhere near my ideal, they are better than before. More than anything i want to feel a solid wellbeing within myself and be unshakeably calm and happy regardless of what may be happening peripherally. And i do feel that slowly (oh so SLOOOOOOOOWLY) happening. And i feel like you, maria, have provided a taste here of whats ahead, something to look forward to, some more hope and assurance, some more fuel in the keepgoing tank LOL. Thank you too for specifying that you too havent felt much creative energy in a long time. Like kat i had assumed you were still very much enjoying creating music and art etc–i had no idea that you also were in this creative limbo, as am i, just the way kat describes it–feeling like a purring cat most of the time (awesome desriptor!) and just lounging about with great food (the only passion left!) and shows and books and walking. Even things i would have jumped at in the past just get a “meh” from me now, like how you described the zumba class thing, Kat, thats just how i feel. I think whats happening with our physicality is probably SO enormous and intense that there is NOTHING left for anything but the essentials–the things that feed us (literally ha) rather than deplete. I keep telling myself, for example, that the reason my hair is so awful for now is that the body is so focused that it cant be bothered with something as trivial as nice hair!
    All of the words here have helped me to “relax into it” a whole lot more, and i feel so much love for us all here 😊💕–thank you again, dearest Maria!

    • Oh Elila how I love your comments. Your vivacious and fun personality shines through them. 🙂

      “I think whats happening with our physicality is probably SO enormous and intense that there is NOTHING left for anything but the essentials”

      Yes, that’s exactly what I thought as well, and also I feel that our body (and mind and soul) have done so much work the past couple of years (or over a decade in my case and I believe in yours, too)) that it just has no additional energy to put in anything other than keeping us alive and comfortable. I just had a nap now, (it’s 8:56 pm and I’ve slept for an hour), because I couldn’t keep awake, just had to sleep for a bit. After doing nothing major today (again). So the odds are that our bodies are still very much “at work” but obviously not the conventional way. And as I said above, I do feel that we need to rest, we deserved to rest. And this conversation has shifted my perception a lot on this issue and I’m so grateful for that.
      Thank you all my dear Ascension buddies 🙂 ❤

    • Elila

      And it’s also soothing to me to know you and others here in our little community are experiencing these things……the physical and emotional challenges….and yeah, I really haven’t created a new song in over a year, other than “night bird” and “night life”…which were really simple and fun, but didn’t take days of composing…

      I do get inspired to create from time to time but it’s usually just designing an album cover or tinkering with the graphics on my blog…and even those don’t give me the type of feeling that the art or music once did. It is a strange place to be.

      I like your comment about your hair…I was feeling that today….I saw some young girls at the cafe with their beautiful, thick curly hair….and these days I keep my hair tucked under a hat for the most part….also I wear a brimmed hat to shield my sensitive-to-light eyes. So I sat there this morning and I realized that a few short years ago I would have gotten quite depressed as I would have felt back then somehow diminished by comparison to others physically.

      But, in terms of our physical bodies….So maybe this next phase of our ‘accelerated evolution’ as new consciousness pioneers is to simply allow our soul, our divine essence, or our expanded consciousness…not sure even what to name it any more….but now that creative expression, or passion is just letting that part of ourselves have it’s way with us, to just let it express and create through these bodies…these bodies are…for the first time ever…. the canvas for our soul, and like every great painting or sculpture, the clay or paint swirls around initially, looking quite the mess, until the artist is satisfied that his creation is perfect. We’re in the process of creating bodies that are OURS. Not the product of our ancestors, god bless them.

      So these carbon based bodies that we started out with are being redesigned…resculpted….by US…how f***ing creative is THAT?
      Love to you dearest Elila💕

  4. Aww kat, your appreciative comment gave me the lovliest wave of happy–thank you for saying that! I sometimes feel as if ive lost touch with vivacity all together so it was warming to have it recognized!
    And yep its been well over a decade for me too (this process kicked into hi gear for me around 2000), and yep its not just physical work happening–often i can be entirely sedentary and STILL have to nap from all the mental/emotional industry happening. I have been sleeping a LOT these days! Which is fine–its one thing that still feels good so i indulge as much as i can. Definitely still so much transformation and purging happening! This conversation has also shifted my perception in a very good way, and you are so right kat–we DESERVE the rest! Excellent reminder. Mostly im ok with that, its only occasionally that i see others being so bloody PRODUCTIVE and all that i feel a little guilty LOL, but gosh It makes me tired to just watch them running to and fro. I rather like the quiet and simplicity of my days, but as i am also unemployed for several years now, i wonder how i’ll ever be able to support myself in the future (my current circumstances that allow me to not work wont last forever) & that still scares me some, as does some of the physical stuff in my body, but at this point it feels like the only option is trust and surrender. It feels kinda like relentless action and “fixing” effort would just get in the way. So i choose to trust that there are solutions and pleasant surprises i simply cant see yet? I sure hope so.
    And Maria, i freakin LOVE how you have framed our “new creativity”–with our bodies and lives being the canvasses–that feels like a giant YES to me!!! My art has always mostly centered around food as my medium, and i used to love creating and executing all sorts of intensive and complicated things, but, while i still get to eat better than most of the population due to my accumulated skills, i find myself pretty much exclusively focusing on very simple fare. The creative part still comes occasionally in spurts, but its all pretty much dormant and has been for quite some time, so i completely relate to how you and Kat describe your situatuons.
    And the HAIR lol. Oh my goodness i know what you mean seeing others with great hair. I actually used to have very nice hair, and now have resorted to keeping it up bcuz its just impossible and unattractive & unmanageable (& trust me that is not any kind of self put-down, its merely an objective observation, and it doesnt make me feel sad or defeated or like some sort of failure like it could have in the past). I also used to have a decent figure and much more comfort in movement and all sorts of little luxuries that have gone by the wayside (temporarily i hope!), and seeing others enjoying them still frequently makes me pretty wistful. And then i try to remind myself that its all in the name of UPGRADE!, and then i can usually shuffle through another day LOL. But its often downright frustrating to say the least. Maria you are right though, it doesnt engender any longer the comparison depression and self-flogging that it used to. And now, thanks to you, from this point forward, im going to see this transformation as my NEW creative medium, my new art! My new creativity, and simply ALLOW it to come through me and express itself, and see what happens!!!
    Love and hugs back my beloved ascension buddies 💜💕💜

    • “Mostly im ok with that, its only occasionally that i see others being so bloody PRODUCTIVE and all that i feel a little guilty LOL, but gosh It makes me tired to just watch them running to and fro”

      Haha yes!!! That is me to a tee. Exact the same sentiment. I love the rest of your comment,too. ❤

  5. I love this post and ALL the comments!! I feel so at ease when I “come here” I can identify with all the feelings of more joy now than ever despite external circumstances, truly only having energy to nap and putter around my home, watching all the productivity happening around me and not being able to connect to it at all. I am learning more and more trust that I don’t have to make anything happen but do feel some old “better figure something out” energy that comes in when I think that my current life circumstances will not allow this to keep going. In the spirit of honesty although I am deeply into my ascension and have released and allowed and surrendered so much in the last decade, I still have moments that say “I hope you don’t find out you really did need to go to school for a certain pay level job, be saving for retirement and have a plan B” just writing it makes me laugh, because even if I wanted to there is NOTHING in me that can connect to that mindset anymore, yet somehow it keeps popping up. 🙂 I will get surges of “YES!! I CAN DO ALL THE THINGS” and then within 10min I cant even remember what it was I thought would be so great! lol Right now just honoring exactly where I am at and trusting that I don’t have to make anything happen or start making plans to make something happen is where I feel the most calm and at peace. I will get a big ol’ nudge with all the perfect trimmings of desire, motivation and energy when and if it is ever time for that to happen. Lots of love, validation and gratitude to all of you ❤ This is a special journey.

    • Hey Stephanie,
      I love what you are saying. Especially this:

      ““I hope you don’t find out you really did need to go to school for a certain pay level job, be saving for retirement and have a plan B” just writing it makes me laugh, because even if I wanted to there is NOTHING in me that can connect to that mindset anymore, yet somehow it keeps popping up.”

      You’re detaching from the mind’s ability to pull you in! That’s mastery! Because as long as we are still human, we are going to be hearing from the mind, but it’s pull will diminish more and more….in fact to the point where even our mind will be relieved that it no longer is responsible for our life. It has it’s purpose of course, to help us navigate here, to use the computer, to do many technical tasks, etc…but what a relief to not have to figure all of this out anymore! Whew!

      and you say:

      “Right now just honoring exactly where I am at and trusting that I don’t have to make anything happen or start making plans to make something happen is where I feel the most calm and at peace. I will get a big ol’ nudge with all the perfect trimmings of desire, motivation and energy when and if it is ever time for that to happen. ”

      I love that. It sounds so confident, so self-loving. Thank you! And love and gratitude to you!💜

      • as always, thank you for the constant validation for the space we are all in. There is a level of connection I get here that I have not quite found anywhere else. Thank YOU!! and love and gratitude to you ❤

    • “I will get surges of “YES!! I CAN DO ALL THE THINGS” and then within 10min I cant even remember what it was I thought would be so great!”

      I can SO relate to that. I, too sometimes have moments of “you better plan what you wanna do, you better get going and do something productive” but then that disappears very quickly and I can’t even remember what it was I was “planning”, nor do I care and I go back to chilling and relaxing, without guilt I might add 😀
      So refreshing to hear you are familiar with this

Leave a Reply

