Soulsoothinsounds's Blog

For those awakening divine humans

Monkey Business

11 Comments

marmoset-monkey-1

Photo by Maria Chambers

Today I stopped into the local UPS mail center, one I had not visited before.  Standing on line was a man with what appeared to be a small creature perched snugly on his shoulder.  I was very drawn to him because it’s not something you see every day.  I didn’t want to stare, so I looked briefly and then looked down at the envelope I was addressing.  Within seconds the man looked over at me and said, “Yes, it’s a monkey.”  I was so happy he initiated the conversation.  This tiny creature was captivating.

There was a distinct communication occurring between the pet and its owner.  The man would look at the monkey, whose name was “Peanut” and just talk to her in casual conversation, and Peanut would respond in peeps and other cute sounds.  Apparently she has been a part of his life for 11 years, and he explained that she was a Marmoset, an endangered species from the Amazon.

I marveled at the connection that Peanut and the man shared.  It seemed deep and spiritual.  It opened up my heart and took me to a place within myself that resonates with that kind of connection.  It was simple, sacred and instinctual.  The pet and the man were part of each other.  There seemed to be a shared love and respect that went beyond the conditioned human-to-human type of love.

marmoset-monkey-3

Photo by Maria Chambers

I left feeling more connected to myself, and found myself practically skipping to my car.

And it’s interesting because I went to the UPS Store to mail something to someone I shared a past with, and in that letter was what amounted to a message that I was now moving on and could no longer connect with them and that world anymore.  I didn’t need to say it in so many words, but the message was clear.  It took several days to get the courage to do it, but it was so much easier after talking to someone who is also a Master.  She helped me to see that by doing this, I also gift them.  They then have the opportunity to move on, or to do whatever it is they need to do or feel. That it’s something they need to hear.  What made it especially difficult is that the recipient of the letter is a family member, actually extended family.  And there may have been some karma there that needed to be released.

So there was a feeling of relief and lightheartedness as I left the store.  I felt that I was being true to myself, and there could be no greater gift in the universe to everyone else.

© Copyright 2017 Maria Chambers, all rights reserved. Please feel free to share this content with others but maintain the article’s integrity by copying it unaltered (while omitting the images if you prefer) and by including the author and source website link: Maria Chambers, https://soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

Author: soulsoothinsounds

Our lives are like great paintings or great pieces of music. If we focus on all the technical 'imperfections' we will miss the true beauty of the work. We won't see, or rather, FEEL the essence and spirit of the masterpiece. I no longer identify myself as a writer, artist, or musician. Rather I express my divinity, and my humanity through the media of art, music and writing. I began this blog because I wanted to give voice to my experiences and insights, and I wrote for myself primarily. Six years later, I am still writing for myself, and I am discovering that my experiences are not personal but universal - galactic even. And now I am more sure than ever that I am a new consciousness teacher, as each of you are. The way we teach is by going through the very human experiences, and as we ascend and shed our old selves, with love, and as we embody spirit in this lifetime, which we are all doing, we become the standards for others of the new divine human.

11 thoughts on “Monkey Business

  1. Beautiful story Maria! I too have been contemplating how to gracefully “break up” with friends I don’t feel like connecting with anymore. I have no reason other than I just don’t want to see them anymore. They’ve done me no harm, in fact, they’ve been good and caring friends, doing all the things good friends would do.
    But for many years I’ve dreaded their calls and felt like I was forcing myself to connect with them. I was fighting with myself about this. “Why don’t I want to see them anymore? What’s wrong with me?” The thoughts were endless. My mind was telling me I didn’t have a good enough reason to end the friendship.
    I realized that while I enjoyed these friendships a decade ago, I had long outgrown them. They were friendships based on a deep connection but simply shared circumstances. I realized that I was staying connected to them because I felt bad for them, like a charity case. Last week I saw this pattern clearly. I attracted a person looking for someone to talk to. I didn’t want to talk to them, but I felt sorry for them, so I started to. It felt so bad to do this but it made me see my pattern clearly. I decided right then and there, NO MORE CHARITY CASES! Since then, that person stopped contacting me. I didn’t even have to say a thing.
    It didn’t occur to me that I could just write a letter to these old friends. Thanks for the idea and for the example you set for all of us! Now to work up my own courage…

    • *Oops. To clarify, “They were NOT friendships based on a deep connection.”

    • Lindsay…It’s comforting to hear that others like yourself are experiencing these feelings….for many of us there is a lingering doubt and guilt attached to moving on. Especially as women we have been well groomed to put others’ feelings before our own. And, yes! Absolutely, these are wonderful people who have been an important part of our life. I used to think I had to find a reason or try to find fault with them to justify where I am and who I have become. For a very long time I allowed myself to get sick to get out of family and friend committments. Then I would have accidents if i tried to push through something I didn’t really want to do with a close friendship of mine. These were frightening wake up calls from myself to STOP. It took awhile, but it does get easier because we know it helps no one to compromise our joy, no matter how big or small the situation.

      I LOVE this: “I decided right then and there, NO MORE CHARITY CASES! Since then, that person stopped contacting me. I didn’t even have to say a thing.” Wow…kudos!!

      About the letter writing…Well the letter writing doesn’t always work. Sometimes they will go into denial and continue trying to connect with me. Then I think, maybe I wasn’t clear with them. Maybe there’s still a part of me that wants to stay connected with them, blah blah blah…but you are courageous, because allowing yourself to stay true to yourself, even with one person, is big! It gets easier and easier because we value ourself more and more. Until eventually we do not attract energy feeding from others. Keep us posted on your insights and experiences.

      • Good to know about the letter writing. I tried ignoring calls for a while or leaving a lot of time in between returning them but I had one friend who was just not getting the hints. Then I realized that I wasn’t being clear with myself about ending the friendship, I was still holding onto it too. Two weeks ago I turned down another old friend’s repeated requests to hang out. It was really hard but after I did that I felt so much freedom and creative energy. It showed me that if I give myself permission to listen to myself, I’m rewarded with all these good feelings and creations.

        I actually even shut off my phone service after that because I realized I really don’t like talking on the phone. I prefer meeting with people in person or texting/email (and I didn’t want to pay for it anymore). I use google voice now for any calls I have to make. It feels like a big relief.

        That is fascinating how you would get sick to get out of commitments. I know the feeling well…I got sick to get out of my whole life! LOL

        I saw this quote the other day and thought it was brilliant.
        “Feels like a woman has to almost die before she gives herself permission to live the way she wants to.” – Glennon Doyle Melton

        I love how we’re all moving beyond the need to be sick to live true to ourselves, one brave step at a time!

      • Lindsay…You said it well, that we need to be clear with OURSELVES about moving on from situations and relationships that no longer serve us. Yes, the quote about a woman having to almost die to get out of something that is not giving her joy. (I’ve witnessed that happening to women I knew…they actually did die). ANd it’s a galactic story that we as women now have an opportunity to heal through our own enlightenment. Traditionally we have believed that pain and suffering was being in service to humanity. It was seen as a virtue in fact. Over time we became used to playing the victim and it became our comfort zone. So moving out of that way of being, and moving into our freedom, into being our christ consciousness and living a sensual life….that’s history-making. Not too many women are ready for that type of freedom.

  2. How interesting Maria – I read your post this morning, and then just saw this in the NY Times! Interesting synchronicity. Haven’t watched it yet, but thought you might appreciate it 🙂 (also I’m a regular reader of your content but rarely comment – but you have a fan in Boston! xoxo).

    https://www.nytimes.com/video/opdocs-long-live-benjamin?action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=opinion-c-col-right-region&region=opinion-c-col-right-region&WT.nav=opinion-c-col-right-region

    • To lamouretlamusique: Wow, the videos made me cry…touched something very deep. I looked at the 1st and some of the 2nd one so far. It is interesting, no coincidences. So, nice to know we have a fellow pioneer in Boston! Thank you so much for sharing here with us.

  3. Hello maria thank u goddess. I luv wat u do.

  4. Awww what a cute little thing? Did you pet it?

  5. Hey Kat💕 You know, I asked the guy if I could but it felt like it wasn’t a good idea, like maybe Peanut would nip at me, wanting to protect her friend. And sure enough he said no, that it wasn’t a good idea. Maybe they are territorial in nature? But yeah, she was adorable for sure, and the way she was talking to him, as he to her, you just could see they were really connecting. He said they can live to be about 20 years old, and that’s Peanuts full adult size.

Leave a Reply

