Soulsoothinsounds's Blog

For those awakening divine humans

Who’s Crazy Now?

29 Comments

Art by Maria Chambers

In the sixty-odd years I have been on this planet, and I do mean odd, I don’t think I have ever really felt normal.  And I think you know what I mean.  I have tried like ‘crazy’ to fit in with my family, school, friends, jobs, marriages.  And yet, I have also rebelled every chance I got.

There was a part of me that desperately wanted to be accepted as ‘normal’, and there was my soul, who didn’t give a damn.

Fortunately I have been a highly creative person, always expressing through writing, art and music.  And because I have been made to feel crazy because of that creativity, I am more tough skinned than others about being the odd one.  Amazingly, even in graduate school, where I was working toward a master of fine art degree, one of my professors stood there in front of us and said that he hoped we had a back up plan.

In other words, not to expect a creative life to necessarily pay the bills.

And that’s because to a large degree the arts are still not taken seriously, at least not in the United States.  They have been considered a nice frivolity by most left brained.  And while things may have progressed, it continues to amaze me that the first thing that gets cut in school budgets are the arts.

The arts are not seen by many beyond the decorative or as entertainment.  And that is largely due to the fact that most people are not accepting their own soul as real.

The same can be said for true spirituality.  Most people are not truly spiritual.  I really don’t even like that word, spiritual, because of its association with religion.  Let’s call it Consciousness.  But they associate the idea of a soul with being ‘out there.’  Eternal life, that’s pretty woo woo to them.  They may subscribe to an abstract concept of god as some force ‘out there’ and even worship  Jesus Christ as their savior.  But a soul that exists within THEM?  That’s the definition of crazy.

One of the biggest challenges of allowing our soul more intimately into our lives and bodies is the notion that we will appear crazy (or for some of us, even more crazy) to others.

It took me years to extricate myself from obligatory family gatherings without the guilt trail.  That was for me a huge hurdle.  But it’s nothing compared to showing up as a woman who has the fire of spirit in her eyes.

It’s  a piece of cake compared to walking around as someone who has fallen so deeply in love with themselves that they are ok with their human self, and all its so-called imperfections.  And they are ok with forgetting people’s names, or not wanting to celebrate anyone’s birthday.  Maybe not even their own, because to them, their real birthday was when they chose to awaken.

They are ok with not being the care-taker for the planet or for anyone on it.  It’s a choice that will have us looking pretty selfish, and pretty crazy.

Art by Maria Chambers

WHO’S CRAZY NOW?

So now here we are, doing god knows what, according to others.  They may see us as eccentric, off in our own world, in denial, in a cult, or just getting old.

Or as just plain crazy.

Yet their own lives aren’t working very well, and they do see something in our eyes they haven’t seen before.  In spite of some apparent issues, they see a sense of peace.   A balance.  They can’t reconcile the two disparities….how can someone who is facing some real human issues and challenges seem so at peace?  Without self-medicating??

And it’s because we are getting closer to being our normal selves…our soul-selves.

And they are further than ever from their normal selves, so they are beginning to feel crazy.  Which they should.  It’s a freaking side-show out there.  People running around doing god knows what for a modicum of security, sacrificing their integrity and their joy daily for a paycheck.

Enduring life, but not truly living it.  Believing that everyone else comes first.  That they are not worthy.  Believing they are just a singular being, and that they alone as the singular human must hold it all together.  They are born, they go to school, they get married, have a career, make money, retire at sixty or seventy, and shortly after that, they croak.  The end.

But at least they are heavily medicated.  Whatever drug of choice works for them….including the drug of work, work, work.  Or losing themselves in sex or a really bad relationship.  Or a myriad of mind numbing drugs to help them to continue enduring a colorless existence.

And of course society supports their choices because it all falls under the umbrella of acceptable, as normal.

That, my friends, is not crazy, that’s psychotic.

But we all know at this point that the world is not anywhere near ready to acknowledge their soul to the degree we have.  And that too is ok.  But there are enough who are ready and more are coming.  So the more we begin to say with confidence that we are in balance.  That we are much more than the human we see as we look in the mirror, the easier it becomes for those who follow.

© Copyright 2017 Maria Chambers, all rights reserved. P!ease feel free to share this content with others but maintain the article’s integrity by copying it unaltered and by including the author and source website link: Maria Chambers, http://www.soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

Author: soulsoothinsounds

Our lives are like great paintings or great pieces of music. If we focus on all the technical 'imperfections' we will miss the true beauty of the work. We won't see, or rather, FEEL the essence and spirit of the masterpiece. I no longer identify myself as a writer, artist, or musician. Rather I express my divinity, and my humanity through the media of art, music and writing. I began this blog because I wanted to give voice to my experiences and insights, and I wrote for myself primarily. Six years later, I am still writing for myself, and I am discovering that my experiences are not personal but universal - galactic even. And now I am more sure than ever that I am a new consciousness teacher, as each of you are. The way we teach is by going through the very human experiences, and as we ascend and shed our old selves, with love, and as we embody spirit in this lifetime, which we are all doing, we become the standards for others of the new divine human.

29 thoughts on “Who’s Crazy Now?

  1. “They are born, they go to school, they get married, have a career, make money, retire at sixty or seventy, and shortly after that, they croak. The end.”

    I have coined this very same thing so many times over the years and have inquired as to if they think it’s normal. The only difference in what I have conveyed is they hit retirement, golf for 3 days and then croak. And, I end it with isn’t there something severely wrong with this picture? Who, mind you, says it has to be this way?

    You work to pay for that car, to drive you to that job, to pay for that home that you are never in? Now, where is the rational in this? Year, after year, after year . . . .

    It is and has always been mind numbing to me. I have been called everything from crazy, weird, mysterious, recluse, loaner, etc., etc., etc. You name it. And, so it is. : )

    Thank you Maria! ❤

    • Pocahontas…..yes, SEVERELY WRONG indeed!!! And yeah, I forgot…golf…which is prevalent down here in Florida. In fact, here in Florida it’s a little more relaxing….there is a large population that works the 9-5 but there is also a large percentage of retired folks. And some have retired early in life and are just enjoying it….I guess my soul guided me here for that reason.

      But anyway, yeah, I guess we always recognized on some level, the craziness of the world we incarnated into. And as you say….and so it is! 💕💕💕💕

  2. Reblogged this on elizabethsadhu and commented:
    More brilliance from Maria. Thank you!

    • Thank you dear siSTAR goddess…(takes one to know one..my brilliant friend!). 💕💕💕 And much appreciation for reblogging on elizabethsadhu

      • ❤ ❤ ❤ You are wonderful! Thanks!

        I did realize yesterday that I don't need to DO anything…….I was thinking that I needed to teach a class…..I put it off…..and then realized that I was doing it to uplift……like that is my job…..(I always have thought it was). NOT MY JOB! 🙂 Sometimes you just have to yell it! I have known on some level that I don't have to DO anything but somehow it just clicked yesterday, probably upon reading this post. I AM DONE caretaking…….YAY!

        Thank you dear Sistar Goddess……<3 ❤ ❤

        Love to us all!

      • Elizabeth…wooooohoooo siSTAR….hip hip hurray!!!! I often shout it too…NO MORE CARETAKING!!!!! How great is that???? And profound! Imagine what we are then doing for our fellow sisters? Becoming the sovereign, self loving woman in a world that never really honored that….wow…

  3. I’m being totally serious when I say this: this is EXACTLY what I needed to read today. I haven’t blogged in a while and thought maybe it was time to write about this topic, and then I saw this post. Yesterday I felt so discouraged about my isolation and the struggle to develop new friendships as an awakening soul. Just when I start thinking someone has potential to be an outside-the-box type person, I try to venture deeper and reveal my true self that knows there’s more to life than building up an identity and getting addicted to the material world. That’s when they get freaked out or bored and vanish. Instead of letting people’s limited, illusory views make me feel like I’m the crazy one, I try to understand that most so-called normal people aren’t ready yet for someone on our level who has allowed more spirit inside. They’re not ready for an unraveling of their beliefs and values that will ultimately lead to a transformation. Thank you for writing this! 🙂 ❤

    • Gotta love those synchronicities…and it’s interesting because the topic inspired me when I woke up this morning. Maybe we all needed to be reminded that we are the sane ones now🤗

      And yes, it can be lonely when can’t connect the way we would love to with people in our world. And we are still developing that intimate relationship with our soul….thank goddess for the online community of like minded souls…and thank you for sharing your light with so many through your wonderful blog.🌹💕💕💕

    • Oh my gosh…..awakenfromthedream…….I hear you! I was just pondering yesterday that I only have about two places, one is here, where I can talk about real shit…..I keep being open to new friendships and I tend to dive in too quickly….because I find out that they NEED me to take care of them, they talk a good talk at first and I get exhausted and then I realize that it is not a balanced friendship…….My guides have encouraged me to dip a toe at a time in…… 🙂

      My hubby, who is wonderful and we have a marvelous life and relationship, does not get this stuff at all…….And that is fine……Our closest friends, who are wonderful, don’t get this stuff…….my dear mentor and best friend, who did get this stuff, passed to another dimension last October 15……I can talk to him still but it is different than our usual talk on the phone 1-2 times a week.

      Anyway…..sorry to go on but I hear you big time!

      Thank the Goddess for Maria and this fabulous collection of souls……

      ❤ ❤

      • Hi elizabethsadhu,

        I’m just now seeing your reply. Thank you for letting me know I’m not the only one! And oh yeah, I know about the unbalanced friendships, too! The one or two who didn’t run tend to be draining because they treat me more like a therapist. I am truly happy to serve that role for a friend some of the time, but a balanced friendship to me means also having joyful experiences and mutually sharing interesting thoughts and ideas, instead of discussing personal problems the majority of the time. I’m sorry to hear you no longer have anyone in your life who gets these things. I lost contact with the one person I connected with best. My boyfriend has opened his mind along the way, but it does get lonely feeling like I’m the only one truly committed to spiritual growth. But who knows! Maybe some of the people in our lives just need a little more time to have their moment of awakening and catch up. It’s an exciting possibility! 🙂

      • Thanks for writing. Lovely for us all to have this beautiful connected journey.

        I do know if feel I am my own best company and trusting that what I hear internally is perfect. No need to validate anymore!

        Although it sure is fun to find the kindreds here.

        Much love, E

  4. Maria? We always knew that the ‘first would later be last’ and vice versa (see Bob Dylan Times They Are A-Changin’).

    There are very few groups who have been as oppressed, deeply disenfranchised and generally abused as ‘the mentally ill’.

    Everyday I see these fallen ones arising and if I happen to be there I make a point of helping them up.

    Forgive me all my sweet peeps, for not having a thousand arms. Saturday 09/09/17 is Looniesfest here in London. See my blog for the flyer. Wild horses won’t keep me away from THAT! We’re gonna have an absolute blast.

  5. Full details of Looniesfest can be seen on my Facebook page https//www.facebook.com/zoe.vincent3 (on my only ‘friend’ Grahame Feasey’s page) I love you soul sistas and bruthas.

  6. Correction: https://www.facebook.com/zoe.vincent3 Those full colons are so important aren’t they! Especially as you can’t edit a comment once you’ve posted it. And don’t forget my blog either http://amistillill.wordpress.com where you can see a very long tale of my own ‘crazywise’ life going back – uh – TEN YEARS! ❤ ❤ ❤

  7. Indeed Maria, Zoe is my given name, Louise is my middle name and the one I prefer to be called now.

    Maria, are you affected by the hurricane? It seems not!

    • Louise,
      Well I am in the path of Irma, and the trajectory keeps shifting,,,,So to play it safe I will be going to a nearby shelter till she blows over. The place I will be staying is called Palm Harbor university High School….it’s a huge campus of buildings. And interestingly, their crest is an image of a hurricane. It will be interesting. All these catastrophic natural events are moving a tremendous amount of energy here on planet earth.

      • Sending love to all.

        Oh yes, a whole lotta energy shifting going on….

        Take care

      • Big Time Maria. I know you are safe and will be studying it all, making notes in your beloved journal and later use if as inspiration for more of your wonderful creative work.

      • Thanks dear Louise…that’s exactly what I’m doing, as the tension (here at the hurricane shelter) mounts while waiting for what is called the biggest hurricane on the planet ever, and apparently it’s currently barreling toward us in Tampa Bay. What a time to take out all my Master skills and put them to use.

        Yes, great post material. And I wish everyone well in Florida right now.🌹💕💕

  8. I inexplicably woke up after only 2 hours sleep and am now watching a family on YouTube escaping the hurricane…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCRF1SNKzw8

    The kids would say this is as insane af.

  9. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAP_hTc0BJg Parental Advisory Sticker on this one, all the way from North London, Ms Dynamite

  10. Please forgive me Maria, for spamming up your comments lol. Who woke me up tonight? Blame them! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5TIDDx57-0

  11. Maria i just want to let you know im with you dear–been through a couple ‘canes myself. So challenging not to get pulled in (& down) to the fear and hype…please keep us posted…
    Loads of love surrounding you 💕💜💕💜💕

    • Thank you dear Elila, very kind of you and I appreciate that. Definitely easy to get pulled into all the fear absolutely. It’s been a really interesting experience overall. There were some real highlights and challenges and I am working on a post about my experience with Irma. which I will publish soon. Meanwhile, all is well with me. I am staying at a friends because my place is not hooked up with electric yet. But there has been no structural damage whatsoever so that’s good news. Love to you.🌹💕💕💕🤗

      • Hurray! Maria so glad yo hear you are ok. I knew you would be. Over the last maybe ten years the media has grabbed on to every storm and hyped it as much as possible, working people into a frenzy –people who dont even live near the crux of it–and it just feeds a giant fear monster that wreaks more havoc than the actual storm most times. Not that irma wasnt a major serious threat of course–but the hype and frenzy get worked up to dangerous and exaggerated levels oftentimes and to me that doesnt feel like a good thing! To me the best thing in situations like that is to be able to remain as calm and clear as possible, and that is so not supported by the media. They want to manufacture as much drama as they can! Cant wait to read your post and get your take on it–im sure i’ll be able to relate! 🌴💕😊💕🌴
        Hope you are back in your own space soon!

      • Well put, Elila, that the fear wreaks havoc more than the actual storm…and that’s what I took away from this hurricane. That I can trust my feelings, regardless of all the sensationalized fear out there. I’m still without power but I’m staying with a friend and it’s cozy here…I feel like I am on a mini vacation. I also feel a newfound inspiration coming alive as a result of the storm…it really did move out some very stuck energies, as is its job…..love to you.🤗🌹💕💕

  12. Hey Maria thank your for this beautiful post !
    It had been a while since I had come to read on your blog but it is…. Soul soothing to be back 😀
    These past weeks, maybe months, I have been increasingly less able to tolerate some of the most traditional conditioning of society, like remembering my parents birthdays, talking for the sake of no having to “endure” silence, taking care of relationships as if they needed to last forever, etc, etc…
    Can anyone else relate to that?
    Much love to you Maria, it’s so good to read about your life experiences and feel that you’ve come to peace with it. So if you did, I can too, can’t I? 🙂 ❤

  13. Hi Jo… welcome back! yes it does seem we become less tolerant of the old ways of relating to others especially. We begin to recognize that we were playing a role, and that it’s not truly who we are. You just don’t want to have to take care of anyone else for any reason. You want them to understand that it’s a sharing not a feelding.

    We can’t compromise our joy anymore. It doesn’t mean we will never have relationships, but we will be showing up more and more as our authentic selves.

    Much love to you too. 🌹💕💕💕💕

Leave a Reply

