I got kicked out of the Robert Crumb Appreciation Society

B8FDF200-7285-4F29-8798-B800145E1DD5I got kicked out of the Robert Crumb Appreciation Society on FaceBook.

  

I know, on my last post I wisely said to stop trying to change the world out there, because it doesn’t work, and besides there are as many truths as there are humans on the planet.

And as a master of our version of reality, we need to respect everyone else’s version.  No matter how f**king lame it is.

First of all, I don’t remember joining the Robert Crumb FB group, because it’s private.  But apparently I had, and it came up on my feed today, with a Crumb image of a busty woman making a fist of victory and it said ‘Women for Trump 2020.’

As I scrolled down the comments, there were reactions of surprise that there would be so much of this use of the Crumb imagery by conservatives.

At that point I couldn’t help myself.  I knew I should have walked away.  Maybe I was just bored.  But I commented that, “Crumb’s art is excellent, but he was not the counter-culture, anti-establishment person his admirers thought he was.  His art was sexist, misogynistic, and racist, all attributes of the establishment, mainstream Patriarchal culture.  Not a judgement, just an observation.”

I got one ‘like,’ and a few antagonistic, and even vulgar responses. Their defense of Crumb was that he is a Trump hater himself. So that absolved him of any misogyny.

Then I tempered my next comment, saying,”Maybe it’s not about Crumb’s intent at all.  Maybe it’s about, when we view these images, ones where women are demeaned, objectified, raped and practically mutilated, how does it make the viewer feel? Because it’s just art.  And art is subjective. Do we feel repulsed by the images?  Or do they make us giggle?  Maybe that’s the real point.  Because that response is telling.  And, it’s in all of us.  I don’t think anyone is totally free from embodying some sexism and misogyny.  A disdain for the feminine.  It’s deeply engrained in us, both men and women, in our culture.  A rejection of the feminine.  Women as much as men suffer from the imbalance. So yes, maybe Robert Crumb is serving us in his own way, by exposing his inner shadows and helping us to see our own.  It’s all good.”

I thought that comment would get me out of the woods.

But the next morning there were several comments, according to my notifications, and when I tried to go in and read them, I wasn’t allowed.  They locked me out.

The Crumb comic of ‘the boys club, no girls allowed’ comes to mind.

But the point is, and part of me is a bit embarrassed to admit it, what happened to me is absolutely all my doing.  I pushed against something, and it pushed me back.

(See my post, ‘Pushback’)

And, it’s all good.  I learned something about myself, and really that is what it’s all about anyway.  I learned that I still get my buttons pushed around issues related to being a woman.

And we can argue that well, yes, of course, we live in a patriarchal world, and it’s everywhere.  It’s subtle and it’s glaring.  I mean, even the thousands of people who admire and worship Robert Crumb’s art don’t see it.  It’s so insidious that it’s often invisible.  Thus acceptable.

But when I went in there and rattled their cage, they growled at me. They weren’t ready to see it in themselves.  And, really, that’s ok.  It’s none of my f**king business.

And, maybe there’s still something in me that’s angry at the feminine, and I am projecting out onto them.  After all, it’s kind of hard to admit that I still harbor some internalized misogyny

But it also made me aware that it’s time to let it go.  To release the old story of who I was. All those many lifetimes were all just experiences I gave myself.  And I was on both sides, I was the victim, and the perpetrator both.

And it’s all distilled by my soul, by my Merlin, into wisdom that I will take with me when I leave this place.

And who knows, I may have ignited a light in someone in that FB group, to feel into their own shadow.  To sense their rejection of their own feminine.

It’s a good starting point for them.

And, when you think about it, self-love, allowing the love from our soul to our human self, involves accepting our shadow, and honoring it.

Because the shadow, the darkness, is also our divinity.

© Copyright 2020 Maria Chambers, all rights reserved. Please feel free to share this content with others but maintain the article’s integrity by copying it unaltered and by including the author and source website link: Maria Chambers, http://www.soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

26 thoughts on “I got kicked out of the Robert Crumb Appreciation Society

  1. elizabethsadhu

    Oh my gosh. I just read this to my daughter and we were giggling.

    Good job!

    I recently got kicked out of a FB group, also.
    You’re in good company. Heehee 😉😉😉😛😛😛

    I had a very similar experience. It was a local small business group. Someone had posted about doing coaching for “ladies”. I asked if she also coached women. Hahaha…..I knew that I was not needed to make any comments. Anyway, the woman was pretty cool and said she appreciated what I said. But then the admin of the group chimed in and started asking me questions. And then wrote to me privately and said unless I had a small business I couldn’t be in the group (untrue since it is a place where small businesses are also trying to get customers and referrals). So she kicked me out and blocked me. Hahaha.

    Our badges of honor. 👍👍👍🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉♥️♥️♥️♥️

    I KNOW I should have just shut the f**k up, but oh well. Makes me laugh.

    And I’m the same, the “woman in a box” issue still triggers me a bit. #fuckthepatriarchy

    And I love what you are saying. It’s like we are all racists on some level because we have lived our whole lives in systemic racism. Well, we have lived our whole lives in sexism and misogyny……. Blah blah blah……

    Such great reminders.

    Thanks for sharing. A great giggle for the morning. And such good shit to think about.

    Love you dearest SiSTAR!!!

    Loving us all!!!!

    AND: I think our soul will dive into these things because we are learning something but also we break up old energy. All good. ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

      1. elizabethsadhu

        Good one dear SiSTAR!
        I love the memes.

        Barbara! Love it. The more we get kicked out the more confirming it is. Ha!

        Love love love

  2. Ripley

    To all you wild women out there (myself included)….you might want to practice conscious, private complaining. You start by finding a private place, indoors or outside.
    Then, you just let yourself go. Give a voice to all your dejected, hopeless, sarcastic, nasty, wild emotions. Bring dark humor out of the shadows and really whine and swear about the frustrations, stupidities, discrepancies and absurdities of your situation. Complain for as long as you like (you’ll be surprised at how quickly this works). When you run out of things to complain about, thank whatever you’ve been whining or yelling at. Thank the furniture, the ground, the trees etc. for listening to you. You can end your conscious complaining session by shaking off the excess energy and doing something fun like dancing or singing. That’s it !

    This kind of complaining doesn’t pull you further down into the doldrums. It actually has the complete opposite effect because it breaks through stagnation and repression and lets you tell it like it is….without repercussions. You restore your flow again, the truth is told again, the decks are cleared and you’ve given yourself an important “time out”.

    Because this is a solitary practice, there is no danger of losing face or hurting someone else’s feelings. Instead, it’s like a quick lube for your soul. Afterward, you will find that you can revisit your struggles with renewed vigor and vision 😂

    Adapted from the book “The Language of Emotions” by Karla McLaren

  3. Good for you, speak your mind my friend or as i say your heart. We here feel the same way and ugh with FB! I deactivated my account earlier this year in January, never returning there. The only thing that keeps me from deleting it entirely are the many pictures of my kiddos. I’m with Elizabeth’s commeht above #fuckthepatriarchy

    1. elizabethsadhu

      Ladysag. Hahaha

      ♥️♥️♥️🎉🎉🎉🎉

      FTP also includes any humans who act in that old way. Many women take on the old classic characteristics and call it feminism.

      Giving unasked, and usually unwanted, advice, mansplaining (womansplaining), taking charge when often a beautiful little pause is called for. Second guessing MY decisions. Just some that kinda bug me.

      I still do Facebook and MOSTLY really love it. I’m in several anti-racism groups, a bunch of dancing groups and a group that is a bunch of ex Kundalini yoga types who wore or used to wear turbans. So lovely. All of them.

      Connection. And connection in the time of COVID.

      Love you dearest SiSTAR!

      LOVING US ALL!

      1. I still rock my turban, always for the shamanic healing sessions I give. My soul, Serena loves them🥰 I am 100% down and feeling every words of your beautifully empowered comment my dear! Here’s to the humans who stand unapologetically in our power with 🖕 to these types of people 😉

        1. elizabethsadhu

          🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️🎉🎉🎉🎉💥💥💥💥💥💥✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

  4. Song

    I totally agree about R Crumb, only I find his work so aesthetically repugnant, I’ve never gotten as far as seeing what his content is. Maybe there’s a connection between ugliness and hatred of the feminine.

    1. Yes, that’s a possibility, Song, that there is a connection there. To be honest, I don’t even remember joining the FB group. But then I got a feed from the latest post, and I just couldn’t help myself. I dove in to add my perspective, which I knew wouldn’t be well received.

      But yes, it’s visceral, that feeling in the pit of the stomach, of that lower energy. The responses to my comment were of course defensive, trying to rationalize their guru’s proclivities. That he was actually illuminating misogyny and racism and not those things himself.

      Cognitive dissonance is a beautiful thing.

Leave a comment