Raindrops keep falling on my head

128A41E0-3C0C-4CBF-B9FC-6C2D00E5B261

“Men aren’t supposed to cry except at funerals and the Grand Canyon.”  ~ Ron Swanson from Parks and Recreation

Today was an interesting demonstration of the metaphor of water.  First, it was a rainy day, with intermittent showers, not unusual for this time of year in Florida.  But it’s been especially stormy because of some influencing hurricane and tropical storm activity in the Atlantic Ocean.

It’s hurricane season and it’s nature’s way and the way of consciousness to clear stuck energies.

So, onto the stories.

This morning I went to the cafe and an acquaintance, someone I only recently met, shared some upsetting news with me as he broke into deep sobbing.  I didn’t know him very well or very long, so it’s the first time I have seen him cry. I consoled him, and told him it’s good he’s expressing his emotions.   There’s more to his story, but that’s not the weird part.  Just last night I was watching a video about how men are discouraged from expressing emotion and tears, other than anger.  And how crying can be healing and cleansing. (Story continues after photo)

cropped-6596a68a-5bbd-4ed1-b7ff-18180acd9752.png

Today I was inspired to create a short music video using a recording of me singing RAINDROPS KEEP FALLING ON MY HEAD with instrumental from a YouTube karaoke.  I used images and video footage of rain and umbrellas.

For fun I was going to send it to another friend of mine, because he enjoys my music videos, but for whatever reason, the timing didn’t feel right.

A few minutes later that friend texted me saying his new upstairs neighbor overloaded his washing machine and inadvertently flooded his apartment and it poured down the walls and ceiling of my friend’s apartment and seeped into his carpet.

Raindrops of sorts were falling on his head as we speak…. I thought there was a reason I hesitated sending that video. As they say, too soon.

Raindrops keep falling on my head…

© Copyright 2021 Maria Chambers, all rights reserved. Please feel free to share this content with others but maintain the article’s integrity by copying it unaltered and by including the author and source website link: Maria Chambers, http://www.soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Raindrops keep falling on my head

  1. Annette

    I love it when I see my husband releasing through tears, not because he is sad, but because I know how very healing it is! He rarely if ever gets angered, very even keel kinda of guy. I’m sure that’s why we chose this incarnation to meet up….lord knows if it had been anyone else I surely would not be here writing🤪Lol

    I love this song, and you did it SO well My Maria! And boy, it wasn’t good timing for sharing with your friend/neighbor at that moment, but I bet you’ll had a good chuckle later! 😁

    I have a Vintage music box of sorts that plays that song, it’s different….will have to send you a pic. Upon receiving it, and listening to it, I just couldn’t remember all the words, so of course I looked them up…..Love the song!!

    Thanks for sharing. 💞🌺💞

    1. Yes, my Annette, it was definitely in the cards for you and your hubby to reconnect this lifetime. It’s so great he’s able to express himself emotionally, and I’m sure he feels the same about you, and that you are so open to allowing that expression in him.

      So glad you enjoyed the song. I actually recorded it in 2018, with my iPhone recorder, but never published it to YouTube because of copyright issues. But it was fun to just sing along with the karaoke instrumental which are available for thousands of popular songs on YouTube. They have the words scrolling down the screen so that makes it easier.

      I’d love to see the music box you speak of. I remember those from childhood.

      1. elizabethsadhu

        Great song. Although now it’s stuck in my head. I’m very susceptible to earworms. 🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

        Great story!!!!

        Love you SiSTAR!

Leave a comment