You Gotta Laugh

5121906_orig

Image credit:  http://www.arlnews.com/funny-pictures.html

Laughter is one of the best ways to move energy and recalibrate our cells.  You won’t hear that statement so much from our beloved non-physical friends, our guides, archangels, ascended masters who still reside on the other side, because…well…frankly, as much as I honor them,  respect them and love them eternally, they can’t tell a joke worth a damn, am I right?

Oh they try, bless them.  But their timing and delivery are all off.  We humans have it over them in the humor department  and that’s because you have to be here, in the flesh, experiencing this roller coaster to be able to extract a joke from the seeming tragedy, dysfunction and chaos called life on Earth.  I’m not talking about trying to cover up your true feelings with nervous laughter, or ridiculing anyone.  I am referring to that deep belly laugh when you are watching a favorite TV comedy or recalling that time, when you thought you looked pretty awesome, but were unwittingly dragging a train of toilet paper under your shoe.

A good dose of humor is a healthy elixer for all of us, no matter our background, financial status, age, race, gender, ethnicity, political persuasion or spiritual bent.  It cuts through all of that to connect and relate to each other.  It’s the very human condition that gives birth to this phenomenon.  We laugh, because we’ve been there, either physically or emotionally. We’ve all put our foot in our mouth,  we’ve all stubbed our toe. We’ve all been politically incorrect.  We’ve all been to a funeral and couldn’t resist throwing our voice so the dead guy sounded like he was talking.  No?  Just me?

Why do we find things funny? It’s funny because it’s true.  It’s funny because it’s understated or overstated. There are so many varieties of humor to satisfy everyone’s taste.  Humor can be sophisticated and subtle or slapstick and obvious.  It points out our so-called imperfections and embraces them.  It’s funny because it’s unexpected.  What better place than this life to find material to laugh at?  Have you ever run across anyone who has no sense of humor?  Scary aren’t they?

What people consider funny has changed over the centuries, but what has remained constant is the ability to laugh at ourselves and at life.  When I cross over to the other side I hope to take what I learned and teach the new recruits, the angels waiting to come here, how to tell a good joke.

copyright © 2015, Maria Chambers, All rights reserved. Please feel free to share this content with others, post on your blog, your Facebook page, etc, but maintain this article’s integrity by including the author and source website link: Maria Chambers at http://www.soulsoothinsounds.wordpress.com

Sometimes the answer is so simple…

6 thoughts on “You Gotta Laugh

  1. Barbara

    Oh, Maria, thank you! Yes, indeed, humor has been the answer to so many situations in my life, and hence my heeding of my WTF’s, the employing of my intuitive Wise Fool, and delight in my favorite word in the English language… oxymoron. Thing is, I’ve never met a moronic ox, but it seems that unbalanced humans are beautifully oxymoronic all by themselves. Breathe in/breathe out. The ability to laugh ‘with’ I think is one of the most precious experiences of being human. Laughing ‘at’, well, that sucks. And oh, yes, WTF has teeth, and seeing as I still have my own teeth, I will let them speak for me. When I get a teeth-bearing, lip-curling WTF, then I know something is definitely off; when I get a gritting teeth WTF, time to step out and have a look at me, when I get a gentle smile WTF, okay, I get it, but I’ll pass. Here’s a new line from Shakespeare: “There are more WTF’s in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy!” Hurrah! Love, B.

  2. Barbara

    A book… I’ll need a title. How about “The Humor of Ass-Ending”. No? Too much? It’s a good thing I’m on my own here, because my funny bone is doing its thing, and I so love it when I get my own jokes! Thank you, Maria, and do you know, though I’ve seen it hundreds of times, I have no idea what “Lol” means, so I make it up as I go along… lots of luck, lots of laughs, lots of love… no, don’t tell me, it depends on the situation. Love, B.

  3. Barbara

    Thank you, Maria. Lest any of your readers get the impression that I have not experienced the pain of living on Planet Earth…. physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and that I have arrived at my sense of humor because I am not serious and thus not qualified to ascend, and lest your readers think that somehow I’ve lucked out and therefore can make jokes about where I am now in my senior years, it is only because of this Pain Planet, as I’ve come to call it, that I have learned that the other side of the coin is compassion and humor. I have literally ‘been there, done that’ when it comes to all of the painful challenges mentioned above and I’m very tired, but yet, I am optimistic, while having to remain guarded. And as Mary M. said, as channeled by Tom Kenyon, (The Arcturian Anthology at page 107), “If you can bear the pressure you will extract something from your life of great value, and having been through the human experience as an Arcturian emanation, I can say that it is worth the price…. and I have no intention of returning.” Love, B.

    1. Well said Barbara. It feels like coal being compressed into diamonds. And really, that’s what’s happening. Compressing spirit into a carbon based body and consciousness, how could it not hurt?

      And, ditto, I am tired too. Like you, been through it all. Some days wondering if I can keep doing this, and on other days, it feels so gratifying being in this sensual time space reality. There’s nothing quite like it. And my soul loves expressing through this body, even with all this body’s challenges.

      But, like you, once I release this mortal coil, I won’t be coming back. Maybe it’s why I insist on sticking it out. If this is the last episode of the long running series, Life On Earth, I want to make the most of it.

      And yes, isn’t it ridiculous that we would be derided for being able to laugh and sip coffee and enjoy being in the moment, as if we didn’t go to hell and back, and that being in our joy means we are somehow not qualified or worthy of ascension.

      Love to you dear friend. 💕

Leave a comment